Racing Report

The 2016 season was largely a successful one, with the overall prizes going down to the last couple of races.

The first event of the season was the Spring Series, which was contested by four boats over five races. This was a very close series, with first place being decided by less than one minute on corrected time in 4 out of the 5 races. This series was won by Ken Stott on Hunter’s Moon by a single point from Ken Andrew on Argento, with Charlie Shaw on Incitatus taking 3rd place.

The start of the season also saw the traditional opening Offshore Championship race to Largs for the Blue Peter Trophy, which was won by Robin Ferguson on Hoodlum, with Argento taking 2nd place. A nasty looking weather forecast unfortunately meant the return race did not take place, with all boats coming home on the Saturday.

The April / May Wednesday Night Wacky Pursuit races were well attended despite the weather, and were won by Ian Douglas on Seascape.

June saw the 50th Anniversary Trophy Race, which was won by Argento from Hunter’s Moon. The second Offshore weekend also took place with Hoodlum winning the Mullach Mhor trophy race to Lamlash from Argento in 2nd. The return race to Troon was won by David Bone on Verlanda, ensuring they finished 2016 as the only boat with a 100% record, with David Hutton on Eliza picking up 2nd place.

The June Wackies saw a good turnout, with 9 boats racing on two occasions, and Eliza picking up the monthly prize.

Into July and it was time for the overnight race to Rothesay for the UFG Trophy. This was raced over a shortened course due to the forecast, with Jonathan Dickie on Farr Out winning from Argento in 2nd and Eliza in 3rd. The return race was a very quick blast home in a strong Westerly breeze, with a repeat of the previous day’s results, although Farr Out winning by only 6 seconds from Argento this time.

The RNLI Lady Isle race was also held in July, with Argento taking 1st place from Gary Muir on Petra, with £40 being raised for the lifeboat.

The next offshore race was a short circumnavigation of the Lower Clyde, with a course up to Stevenston Buoy, across to Hamilton Rock and back to Troon in a failed attempt to get a beat into the course (something the wind gods denied us almost all season). Farr Out were now getting their act together and managed another win from Argento, keeping the Club and Offshore Championships firmly alive heading into the tail-end of the season. Farr Out also took 1st place in the July Wackies.

The Thistle Trophy to Largs for the closing muster turned out to be a day for the non-spinnaker boats, with David Hutton on Eliza taking the win by 24 seconds from Ian Gairns on Storm.

This result, together with Farr Out being forced to stay at home and do decorating meant that the Offshore Championship went into the final race finely poised, with both Argento and Eliza still able to win overall. Sadly the Tarbert Trophy was beset by a flat calm, but five boats motored up and had a great night at the music festival.

The August / September wackies were won by Ian Douglas in Seascape, who also took the Inshaw Plate for the overall Wednesday Night winner over the course of the season. This was closely fought, with Seascape winning by only 2 points from Farr Out, with both boats counting 15 results.

The final event of the season was the Autumn Series, which was again very close, being won by Hunter’s Moon by a single point from Farr Out. This left Ken Andrew and Argento as 2016 Offshore and Club Champion after a very consistent season.

The club was also represented farther afield this year, with Ken Andrew’s Argento and Jonathan Dickie’s borrowed Hunter Sonata Saraband competing in the Silver’s Scottish Series, with both picking up a couple of 2nd places each in competitive classes.

Also two boats took part in Largs regatta week, with Farr Out and Petra flying the flag for TCC on the water and in the bar, with Farr Out picking up 3rd in Class 3 in the Scottish 2-Handed Race.

A special mention also to Charlie Shaw and Incitatus, who were well up with the leaders in the Scottish Islands 3 Peaks race until sadly being forced to retire.

Finally a big thanks to everyone who took part in the racing during the 2016 season. I think this year has shown that the racing in the club is often very close, and that anyone can come out and win on the day. So thanks again, and best wishes for the 2017 season!

Jonathan Dickie – Racing Secretary